Chair Elected for North Wales Fire and Rescue Authority


Denbighshire County Councillor Meirick Lloyd Davies was re elected as the Chair of the North Wales Fire and Rescue Authority at the Annual Meeting held at the Conwy County Borough Council chamber earlier today (Monday 16th June).
Councillor Davies began his career in local Government over 30 years ago, has twice served as the Chair of Denbighshire County Council between 1995 and 2013 and has been a member of the Fire and Rescue Authority since 1999.

On his election to serve as Chair of the Authority for the next 12 months, he said: "I am delighted to be able to take on this role for another year. We are in the process of  implementing a strategy for financial savings within the Authority - it is a challenging time  with some difficult decisions ahead, but I am pleased to be able to continue working to see this strategy through to achieve our vision for the future of the fire and rescue service in North Wales.

"One of the toughest challenges we currently face as an Authority is to continue protecting our communities and provide the same high level of service within tight financial constraints - I am committed to ensuring we continue to do all that we can to make North Wales a safer place to live, work or visit and to maintaining  the Authority's excellent reputation for the work it does."
Conwy County Councillor Peter Lewis MBE was re elected as the Deputy Chair.
Councillor Lewis first joined the Fire and Rescue Authority in 2012. He said: "The Chair and I have worked well together over the last year which I am sure will benefit the Authority as we face the challenges ahead.
"As a combined team, I am confident we can endeavour to ensure the Authority achieves the best fire and rescue service possible for North Wales."

Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram

Thank you for your email address

We will shortly provide you with the appropriate information.


Thank you for your request