Local Pension Board

New governance requirements have been introduced as a result of the Public  Service Pensions Act 2013 in relation to the Firefighters' Pension Schemes.

The Public Service Pensions Act 2013 provides for:

  • a 'responsible authority' who makes the regulations for the firefighters' pension schemes, - in Wales this is the Welsh Government
  • the establishment of a new national 'scheme advisory board' to provide advice to the Welsh Government in relation to changes to the scheme and to provide advice to the scheme managers and pension boards
  • a 'scheme manager' to be responsible for managing and administering the scheme locally - the Fire and Rescue Authority and a lead advisor which is the Deputy Chief Fire Officer
    the establishment of a new local 'pension board' to assist the scheme manager.

The Local Pension Board will ensure that the Code of Practice on governance and administration issued by the Pensions Regulator is complied with.  The Board will also ensure that it complies with the knowledge and understanding requirements in the Pensions Regulator's Code of Practice.

The Local Pension Board is accountable to the Pensions Regulator, the National Scheme Advisory Board and the Administering Authority in their role as Scheme Manager. The National Scheme Advisory Board will advise both the Welsh Government and Dyfed Pension Fund (Administrators of the pension schemes).  The Pensions Regulator will report to Welsh Government but will also be a point of escalation for the Local Pension Board for matters such as whistle blowing or similar issues (supplementary to the whistle blowing policy and anti-fraud and corruption policies operated by the administering authority).

Terms of Reference

North Wales Fire and Rescue Service policy and procedure for reporting Breaches of the Law to the Pensions Regulator

Conflict of Interest policy

LPB Annual Report 2016-17

LPB Annual Report 2015-16

Membership of the Local Pension Board 2017-2019
Three members of North Wales Fire and Rescue Authority, namely, Councillors Rodney Skelland, John Brynmor Hughes and Bryan Apsley

Clerk to the Authority.
Treasurer of the Authority.
Scheme Manager:
Two representatives from each representative body officially associated with the NWFRA:
Fire Brigades Union - Parry Davies and Blythe Roberts
Fire Officers' Association - Geraint Hughes and Paul Scott
Association of Principal Fire Officers - Richard Fairhead and Ruth Simmons.

Chair of the Board
The Chairperson of the Local Pension Board will be rotated every two years between a member representing employers and those representing scheme members.
Richard Fairhead is the Chair for the period 2017-2019. The Chair is nominated to sit on the National Firefighers Pension Advisory Board.


Agenda 11/01/18

Agenda 07/04/17
Minutes 07/04/17 

Agenda 08/11/16
Minutes 08/11/16

Agenda 20/04/16
Minutes 20/04/16

Agenda 30/11/15
Minutes 30/11/15

Agenda 20/04/15
Minutes 20/04/15

Thank you for your email address

We will shortly provide you with the appropriate information.


Thank you for your request